top of page

Learning style

As a kid, I always preferred learning by heart and then writing down what I have memorised in my notebook. And this approach is something that was feasible during school time because our study material used to be very limited. But as a teenager, this approach can be difficult to execute when you have to cover so much. It was difficult for me to memorise everything because it wasn’t my strongest forte. And so I tried writing whatever I wanted to memorise repeatedly until it was imprinted in my head. But this method wasn’t very efficient for me since most of the time I was doing last-minute preparations. The “learn-by-heart and write” style was an effective style as a kid and worked well even when I was preparing last minute. But it is not possible when you are reading in 9th grade or 10th grade. 


Firstly, I had to learn to break the habit of preparing last minute. I found the most effective learning style for me during this period was to take notes during class and then when I was home I used to lock myself in a room and pretend as if I was giving a lecture. I even got myself a whiteboard and created my own imaginary classroom and it helped me immensely. During this stage, I was also more into visual learning. Youtube was a lifesaver for me during the 10th and 12th boards. 


After I was done with school and started college I realised not every answer I was looking for was available on Youtube, sometimes even Google was of no help and ChatGPT didn’t exist back then. During this period, learning in groups helped a lot. Discussing among friends and connecting the theories with real-life examples helped a lot. And when you develop the habit of discussing topics every single day with your friends, you would make extra efforts to read and learn beforehand.  


I believe there is not just one perfect learning style. A lot of it depends on our strengths and moreover, our learning style should revolve around those strengths. I am someone who enjoys learning when I am connecting theories with the real world. And discussing with people also helps me a lot in terms of understanding concepts that go over my head when I am just skimming through my notes or going through books.


1 view

Recent Posts

See All

Everything about Internal Communications

Imagine a company where employees aren’t briefed properly regarding their tasks. Also, they aren’t encouraged to share their progress or...

Circle of research

In today's ever changing world, expanding your research horizons is significant for personal growth and professional development....

Market Research and validating source

Market research involves analysing potential customers to determine if a product or service is viable in the existing market. It allows a...

Comments


bottom of page